SECOASSIST team group picture 11 March 2022 SECOASSIST team group picture 23 January 2020

Principal Investigators

Tom Mens, Software Engineering Lab, Université de Mons

Tom Mens is coordinator of the Excellence of Science research project Automated Assistance for Developping Software in Ecosystems of the Future (SECO-ASSIST). He is full professor at the University of Mons (UMONS), where he directs the Software Engineering Lab. He is president of the UMONS research institute INFORTECH and active member of research institutes COMPLEXYS and NUMEDIART. His main research interests are empirical analysis and tools for software evolution, software quality, software modelling and software ecosystems. He published countless scientific articles on the aforementioned research topics in peer-reviewed international journals, conferences and workshops. He was program chair of ICSM 2013, CSMR 2012 and CSMR 2011. He was keynote speaker for ICSME 2016. He co-organised numerous scientific workshops. He was program committee member and reviewer of numerous international journals, conferences and workshops related to software engineering, software modelling and software evolution. He is former director of the ERCIM Working Group on Software Evolution and the ESF Research Network RELEASE. He co-edited the Springer books Software Evolution with S. Demeyer in 2008, Evolving Software Systems with A. Serebrenik and A. Cleve in 2014, and last but not least Software Ecosystems: Tooling and Analytics with C. De Roover and A. Cleve in 2023.

Coen De Roover, Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Coen De Roover is an associate professor at the Software Languages Lab of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel in Belgium. The central theme of his research is the design of program analysis and transformation techniques, and their application in software engineering tools for quality assurance. Example analysis techniques include abstract interpretation of dynamically-typed programs in general, and of JavaScript programs in particular. Example tools include tools for detecting user-specified bug patterns in an implementation, or for validating an implementation with respect to a user-specified design. Here, an executable logic often serves as the tool’s specification language.


Serge Demeyer, University of Antwerp

Serge Demeyer is a professor at the University of Antwerp and the spokesperson for the ANSYMO (Antwerp System Modelling) research group. He directs a research lab investigating the theme of "Software Reengineering" (LORE - Lab On REengineering). Serge Demeyer is a spokesperson for the NEXOR interdisciplinary research consortium and an affiliated member of the Flanders Make Research Centre. In 2007 he received a "Best Teachers Award" from the Faculty of Sciences at the University of Antwerp and is still very active in all matters related to teaching quality. His main research interest concerns software evolution, more specifically, how to strike the right balance between reliability (striving for perfection) and agility (optimising for improvements). He is an active member of the corresponding international research communities, serving in various conference organization and program committees. He has written a book entitled "Object-Oriented Reengineering" and edited a book on "Software Evolution". He also authored numerous peer reviewed articles, many of them in top conferences and journals. Serge Demeyer completed his M.Sc. in 1987 and his PhD in 1996, both at the "Vrije Universiteit Brussel". After his PhD, he worked for three years in Switzerland, where he served as a technical co-ordinator of a european research project. Switzerland remains near and dear to his heart, witness the sabbatical leave during 2009-2010 at the University of Zürich in the research group SEAL.


Anthony Cleve, Université de Namur

Anthony Cleve is a professor in information system evolution at University of Namur, where he serves as president of the PReCISE research center. He is also a part-time Lecturer in database engineering at Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB). Previously, Anthony was an ERCIM post-doctoral research fellow at INRIA Lille (2009-2010), where he worked in the ADAM team. He holds an MSc degree (2004) and a PhD degree (2009) in Computer Science from the University of Namur. Anthony also worked as visiting researcher at CWI, Amsterdam, where he was a member of the SWAT team (2005-2006). Anthony's research interests include information system maintenance and evolution, software and data reverse engineering, program analysis and transformation, self-adaptive and context-aware systems. He has co-authored over 50 publications in international venues in software and systems engineering. Anthony’s PhD thesis, entitled "Program Analysis and Transformation for Data-Intensive System Evolution", earned the IBM Belgium 2010 Award for the best PhD thesis in Computer Science and applications. Anthony regularly serves in the organizing and/or program committees of international scienti_c events including ER, SLE, ICSM, WCRE, CSMR, IWPSE, ESEC/FSE, ASE, and ICSE. He has served as co-chair of the ERCIM Working Group on Software Evolution and Steering Committee member of the International Workshop on Principles of Software Evolution (IWPSE). He served as program co-chair for 2012 and 2013 editions of the European Conference on Software Maintenance and Evolution (CSMR). He co-edited the book "Evolving Software Systems", published by Springer in 2014.


Postdoc Researchers

Eleni Constantinou, Université de Mons, January 2018 - September 2019
Alexandre Decan, Université de Mons, 1 August 2018 - 2023
Emna Hachicha, Université de Namur, 1 January 2019 - 1 April 2019
Henrique Rocha, Universiteit Antwerpen, 1 January 2019 - 2022
Dario Di Nucci, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, 1 January 2019 - December 2019
John Businge, Universiteit Antwerpen, 1 november 2019 - ongoing.
Ahmed Zerouali, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, March 2020 - 2023
Loup Meurice, Université de Namur, June 2020 - 2023

PhD Students

Damien Legay, Université de Mons, February 2018 - September 2018
Ahmed Zerouali, Université de Mons, January 2019 - June 2019
Maxime Gobert, Université de Namur, January 2019 - 2023
Camilo Velazquez Rodriquez, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, November 2018 - March 2024
Mehrdad Abdi, Univeristeit Antwerpen, January 2019 - 2023
Mehdi Golzadeh, Université de Mons, June 2019 - June 2023
Pol Benats, Université de Namur, September 2019 -
Zeinab Abou Khalil, Université de Mons, December 2020 - March 2021


Gregorio Robles, associate professor, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Jesus M. Gonzalez-Barahona, full professor, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Eleni Constantinou, assistant professor University of Cyprus
Dario Di Nucci, assistant professor, Jheronimus Academy Data and Engineering Lab, Netherlands